Jump to content


Photo

Bitdefender Antispam Module Disabled


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Brendan Cuffe

Brendan Cuffe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 23 September 2008 - 02:07 PM

Running BitDefender Total Security 2009, Vista Home Premium (32 bit) on a new PC along with Outlook 2007. If I click on the Anti-spam tool bar icons in Outlook I get the message in attachment 1. However when I check in services the Virus Shield is working - see attachment 2. BitDefender itself indicates that the antispam module is not available - see attachment 3.

Any ideas on what I need to do to get the anti-spam module working?

Regards,
Brendan

Attached Files



#2 Ikovacs

Ikovacs

    Newbie

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • 23 posts

Posted 23 September 2008 - 07:55 PM

I have same problems and I got the next "advices":
/ I have XP, ie7, outlook express and antipishing don't work too /
"
Windows/BitDefender crashes. So please remove:

SUPERAntiSpyware Professional
Ad Popup Killer version 4.0

Please follow the steps below in order to reinstall Bitdefender v2009:

1. Use our uninstall tool in order to uninstall/delete any previous
BitDefender related files:
http://www.bitdefender.com/uninstall

Access the link and when the window with the BitDefender file appears, please
choose the "Save to disk" option. Save the tool on the PC, run it and restart
the computer when prompted.

2. Install BitDefender using the latest installation kit available for
download. Please note that you need to download (save) the installation kit
prior to running it. To find out what Windows version are you using, please go
to Control Panel and select System. If under Windows there isn't written
anything regarded the number of bits, then you must install the 32 bit
version.

The BitDefender Total Security 2009 installation kit can be downloaded from
one of the 2 locations:

- 32 bit Vista compatible version (most commonly used version):
http://download.bitd...ty_2009_32b.exe


- 64 bit Vista compatible version:
http://download.bitd...ty_2009_64b.exe


The installation guide is available here:
http://kb.bitdefende...urity-2009.html


During the setup process you will be prompted for your license key. Please use
the license key received when you purchased to register BitDefender.

For more information on the registration process please read:
http://kb.bitdefende...ender-2009.html

http://kb.bitdefende...er-account.html

Best regards,

Daniel Dodu
BitDefender Technical Support Engineer
"
Of course, these advices are a ######!

Earlier and newly I made this advices without resolving!

Try the next:
http://www.bitdefend...am-toolbar.html

I tried with bdoe.dll / outlook Express / but don'z helped!

Best regards,

Ikovacs

természetesen


QUOTE (Brendan Cuffe @ Sep 23 2008, 02:07 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Running BitDefender Total Security 2009, Vista Home Premium (32 bit) on a new PC along with Outlook 2007. If I click on the Anti-spam tool bar icons in Outlook I get the message in attachment 1. However when I check in services the Virus Shield is working - see attachment 2. BitDefender itself indicates that the antispam module is not available - see attachment 3.

Any ideas on what I need to do to get the anti-spam module working?

Regards,
Brendan



#3 Brendan Cuffe

Brendan Cuffe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 23 September 2008 - 09:14 PM

I have contacted support. If I get a solution that works for me I shall pass it on.

Brendan

QUOTE (Ikovacs @ Sep 23 2008, 06:55 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I have same problems and I got the next "advices":
/ I have XP, ie7, outlook express and antipishing don't work too /
"
Windows/BitDefender crashes. So please remove:

SUPERAntiSpyware Professional
Ad Popup Killer version 4.0

Please follow the steps below in order to reinstall Bitdefender v2009:

1. Use our uninstall tool in order to uninstall/delete any previous
BitDefender related files:
http://www.bitdefender.com/uninstall

Access the link and when the window with the BitDefender file appears, please
choose the "Save to disk" option. Save the tool on the PC, run it and restart
the computer when prompted.

2. Install BitDefender using the latest installation kit available for
download. Please note that you need to download (save) the installation kit
prior to running it. To find out what Windows version are you using, please go
to Control Panel and select System. If under Windows there isn't written
anything regarded the number of bits, then you must install the 32 bit
version.

The BitDefender Total Security 2009 installation kit can be downloaded from
one of the 2 locations:

- 32 bit Vista compatible version (most commonly used version):
http://download.bitd...ty_2009_32b.exe


- 64 bit Vista compatible version:
http://download.bitd...ty_2009_64b.exe


The installation guide is available here:
http://kb.bitdefende...urity-2009.html


During the setup process you will be prompted for your license key. Please use
the license key received when you purchased to register BitDefender.

For more information on the registration process please read:
http://kb.bitdefende...ender-2009.html

http://kb.bitdefende...er-account.html

Best regards,

Daniel Dodu
BitDefender Technical Support Engineer
"
Of course, these advices are a ######!

Earlier and newly I made this advices without resolving!

Try the next:
http://www.bitdefend...am-toolbar.html

I tried with bdoe.dll / outlook Express / but don'z helped!

Best regards,

Ikovacs

természetesen



#4 Brendan Cuffe

Brendan Cuffe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 24 September 2008 - 10:32 PM

I got the same advice as you from BitDefender rolleyes.gif , so I thought what the heck I shall uninstall and reinstall and to my surprise, my antispam module is now working.

Regards,
Brendan rolleyes.gif

QUOTE (Ikovacs @ Sep 23 2008, 06:55 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I have same problems and I got the next "advices":
/ I have XP, ie7, outlook express and antipishing don't work too /
"
Windows/BitDefender crashes. So please remove:

SUPERAntiSpyware Professional
Ad Popup Killer version 4.0

Please follow the steps below in order to reinstall Bitdefender v2009:

1. Use our uninstall tool in order to uninstall/delete any previous
BitDefender related files:
http://www.bitdefender.com/uninstall

Access the link and when the window with the BitDefender file appears, please
choose the "Save to disk" option. Save the tool on the PC, run it and restart
the computer when prompted.

2. Install BitDefender using the latest installation kit available for
download. Please note that you need to download (save) the installation kit
prior to running it. To find out what Windows version are you using, please go
to Control Panel and select System. If under Windows there isn't written
anything regarded the number of bits, then you must install the 32 bit
version.

The BitDefender Total Security 2009 installation kit can be downloaded from
one of the 2 locations:

- 32 bit Vista compatible version (most commonly used version):
http://download.bitd...ty_2009_32b.exe


- 64 bit Vista compatible version:
http://download.bitd...ty_2009_64b.exe


The installation guide is available here:
http://kb.bitdefende...urity-2009.html


During the setup process you will be prompted for your license key. Please use
the license key received when you purchased to register BitDefender.

For more information on the registration process please read:
http://kb.bitdefende...ender-2009.html

http://kb.bitdefende...er-account.html

Best regards,

Daniel Dodu
BitDefender Technical Support Engineer
"
Of course, these advices are a ######!

Earlier and newly I made this advices without resolving!

Try the next:
http://www.bitdefend...am-toolbar.html

I tried with bdoe.dll / outlook Express / but don'z helped!

Best regards,

Ikovacs

természetesen



#5 JimL

JimL

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 22 October 2008 - 01:55 PM

I have the same ###### problem as Brendan. Uninstalled and Reinstalled 5 or 6 times. Works maybe 1 out of 20 times. Get the same message pop-ups as Brendan. Driving me crazy.

Win XP media center 2005-Outlook Express 6-SP3- IE7

Im about ready to give up Jim

#6 breadncheese

breadncheese

    Newbie

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • 48 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted 04 November 2008 - 09:53 PM

Is this ever going to get sorted???? sad.gif

#7 Tierix

Tierix

    Regular Poster

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glasgow, Scotland

Posted 15 November 2008 - 12:54 PM

Personaly, I have the exact opposite problem! I WANT to disable it.

I have:
- Bitdefender Total Security 2009
- Outlook 2007
- Activesync 4.5

I use ActiveSync to synchronize my PDA with Outllok. Before, Outlook disabled the antispam bar, so no problem. But I had to reformat my PC. Now, I can't get the toolbar to be deactivated by Outllok anymore so it's on and when I try to synchronize my PDA with Outlook it gives me a message: "Outlook cannot synchronize for the task panel is not working. Please reinstall Outlook".

I know it's not Outlook cause it workked before. I have reinstalled Outlook, even the whole office, reinstalled ActiveSync, nothing works.

Does anybody have the same problem synchronizing Outlook with a PDA using ActiveSync please?

#8 Niels

Niels

    BitDefender Evangelist

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,353 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
  • Interests:watching horror movies , PC and security , moutainbiking

Posted 16 November 2008 - 08:53 PM

Hello,

Press the windows button together with r now type this: services.msc press enter. Now search for the Terminal Services right click on it choose properties by start-up type select automatic press on apply and ok. Reboot your pc.

Kind regards,
Niels

Hello Tierix,

Try this press the windows button together with r now type this:
regsvr32 -u "%ProgramFiles%\BitDefender\BitDefender 2009\bdo.dll" (if you have installed BitDefender on the default location otherwise you need to enter the entire pad I men C:\BitDefender\BitDefender\BitDefender 2009\bdo.dll)

So you aren't able to go to tools,trust center,add-ins go?

Kind regards,
Niels

#9 Tierix

Tierix

    Regular Poster

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glasgow, Scotland

Posted 16 November 2008 - 08:59 PM

Thanks Neils,

Yes I can go to add-ins, but even if I uncheck the Bitdefender toolbar, doesn't work.
The unregistering of the DLL didn't work but I did it in safe mode. works now. thanks a lot

#10 Niels

Niels

    BitDefender Evangelist

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,353 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
  • Interests:watching horror movies , PC and security , moutainbiking

Posted 24 November 2008 - 03:15 PM

Hello Tierix,

Sorry for the delay but I do this forum only in my free time.

Normally if you disable the BitDefender antispam plug-in it's normal that it wouldn't work. It might be my problem understanding English correctly. But I thought that you wanted to disable BitDefender antispam toolbar so you are able to synchronize your PDA. You can try this do not connect your PDA (shut it down). Now go to add-ins disable the BitDefender toolbar. Close outlook see if BitDefender toolbar is still disabled now turn your PDA on.

Glad that I could help you. You are welcome. Maybe it's better that you contact support about your issue me as a normal user can't do anything about this issue. Please do what is written here. After that you can contact technical support by using livechat. Ask them that they send you an e-mail with ticket-id.

Kind regards,
Niels

#11 Oracle

Oracle

    Poster

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • Pip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney Australia

Posted 25 November 2008 - 10:21 PM

Hi Niels

Thanks for the advice- Finally a solution to the anti pam continually being disabled. I ahve been so sick of reinstallng the darn product- it has been so time consuming.

What has compunded my frustration is the fact that I can never get livechat to work and, if I do email support, it takes a week before they repond. Living in Australia and trying phone support is a joke too. Is there anyone I can feedback this too at Bitdefender who will actually do something about lack of customer care?

However, Niels, you have been a great help and support. Thank you!

#12 JulianH

JulianH

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 12 December 2008 - 10:25 PM

I have exactly the same problems with TS2009. It seems very susceptible to almost anything happening to the system. It also does not work correctly if you try to use the Repair option only a full uninstall works (update fails totally with Repair!). The task bar icon does not always work, OK the first time not subsequently ditto the desktop shortcut. I have had to uninstall/re-install TS2009 after system restores and, frankly, this is not satisfactory. Another odd behaviour is that I have to remove MS KB954430 with the Windows Installer Cleanup programme and then let TS2009 re-install it, if I don't it keeps showing up as a Critical error in Vulnerability. IS 2008 had problems when it first came out which suddenly cleared, I wonder if this will happen with TS2009? When it is working the programme is great, but it fails too easily. Could it be disabled by a rogue programme and leave a computer unprotected yet still telling the owner all is OK?? Come on BitDefender, you can, and have, done much, much better. Let’s get this product working properly, listen to what people are telling you, there IS a problem with TS2009 and it IS serious. Remember the old saying, "If something works correctly the owner tells one other, however if something does not work correctly, the owner tells as many people as possible". It is hard to gain a good reputation but very easy to lose it. sad.gif

For info: I am running Vista Home Premium on my laptop, BD TS2009, Office 2007 but I have had exactly the same problems with another laptop running Win XP Home SP3 and my desktop running Win XP Pro SP3, all with Office 2007. From this, it does not appear to be just OS sensitive, there has to be a major problem somewhere.

I off now to uninstall/ re-install, update, run the Deep System check as required and hopefully it will work OK for a day or so.angry.gif

#13 JulianH

JulianH

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 12 December 2008 - 10:30 PM

Forgot another oddity, when installing TS2009, it fails to update correctly due to not having the update path in it's White List. Works OK after rebooting. It does this every time after full re-install.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users