Jump to content


Photo

Firewall Wont Allow Internet Access


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 drewmar

drewmar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 06 June 2012 - 11:05 PM

I'm trying to get my laptop to access the internet again without having to turn off my Bitdefender firewall. With firewall on I have no internet access

Bitdefender had to do an update today and had to restart after. When my laptop turned back on I had no internet access and some random blank bitdefender window was opened. I'm not sure if the update was performed correctly or not, it could possibly be my problem. I performed another update once I opened Bitdefender again and it completed fine and did not require me to restart. So I'm not to sure what happened in the update.

I have found a way to view the internet if I disable the firewall but I don't like to browse to many sites with it turned off.

Can anyone help me to get my internet working properly.

I have windows 7 by the way.

Thanks

Andrew

Attached Files


Edited by drewmar, 06 June 2012 - 11:07 PM.


#2 Christian

Christian

    Bitdefender Support

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BitDefender HQ
  • Interests:Private

Posted 07 June 2012 - 03:30 AM

Hi smile.gif

Welcome to the forums.

Please follow the steps explained in the article below and send me via PM the generated log file:

http://forum.bitdefe...showtopic=29927

If the file is too big to attach it, upload it on

http://www.sendspace.com

or

http://www.mediafire.com

and send me a PM with the download link.

If you were already asked to generate the log file, disregard the message above and just post the ticket ID.

Have a nice day.

#3 Lewis

Lewis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 June 2012 - 08:51 AM

QUOTE (Christian @ Jun 7 2012, 04:30 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi smile.gif

Welcome to the forums.

Please follow the steps explained in the article below and send me via PM the generated log file:

http://forum.bitdefe...showtopic=29927

If the file is too big to attach it, upload it on

http://www.sendspace.com

or

http://www.mediafire.com

and send me a PM with the download link.

If you were already asked to generate the log file, disregard the message above and just post the ticket ID.

Have a nice day.


I have the same problem. Off the firewall and I got internet access otherwise no.

I changed all FW's setting to allow also no use...

#4 Christian

Christian

    Bitdefender Support

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BitDefender HQ
  • Interests:Private

Posted 12 June 2012 - 09:03 AM

Hello smile.gif

Welcome to the forums!

Have you tried these settings first?

http://forum.bitdefe...showtopic=33642

Thank you!

#5 Lewis

Lewis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 June 2012 - 09:16 AM

QUOTE (Christian @ Jun 12 2012, 10:03 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hello smile.gif

Welcome to the forums!

Have you tried these settings first?

http://forum.bitdefe...showtopic=33642

Thank you!


I did change one action at the mode from default but forgot what I changed then stopped there thinking those setting not related....

Will try to follow what you said and see what happen after I restore that OS...

Thanks.

#6 drewmar

drewmar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 13 June 2012 - 12:45 AM

I switched to the settings in http://forum.bitdefe...showtopic=33642 and rebooted. Now it works with the firewall on. When I rebooted and got back to my desktop I still had that blank Bitdefender window open. I'm not sure why it appears still.

Attached Files



#7 drewmar

drewmar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 14 June 2012 - 07:38 PM

I still have an annoying issue. I'm not entirely sure if it's Bitdefender causing it or what though. The issue only started only after that one update failed though.

Anyway I have that blank Bitdefender window open and ALSO all of my desktop icons are all lined up on the left hand side whenever my computer starts up. It's very annoying having to move all your icons each time. I've included a picture of what it looks like. I don't care if you see what my icons are.

Attached Files



#8 Christian

Christian

    Bitdefender Support

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BitDefender HQ
  • Interests:Private

Posted 18 June 2012 - 11:34 AM

Hello smile.gif

Send me some logs so I can take a look:

http://forum.bitdefe...o...st&p=145840

Thank you!

#9 Skeggs50

Skeggs50

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 24 June 2012 - 06:45 PM

QUOTE (Christian @ Jun 12 2012, 03:03 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hello smile.gif

Welcome to the forums!

Have you tried these settings first?

http://forum.bitdefe...showtopic=33642

Thank you!


Christian,

I am having the same issue. I have changed Bitdefender to the settings your recommended above, but for some reason it continues to default back to Stealth Mode "Remote" and Generic "No" after reboot thereby preventing internet access. It is also forcing all of my desktop icons to the left side of the screen as mentioned below by user "dremar".

Any suggestions on getting Bitdefender to keep the settings I have selected?

Thanks,
William

#10 drewmar

drewmar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 26 June 2012 - 04:07 AM

QUOTE (Christian @ Jun 18 2012, 03:34 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hello smile.gif

Send me some logs so I can take a look:

http://forum.bitdefe...o...st&p=145840

Thank you!



I'm unable to send you a PM. But here is the link to my Error Log. http://www.mediafire...360t0nysrxx0m1c

#11 drewmar

drewmar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 02 July 2012 - 01:06 AM

QUOTE (drewmar @ Jun 25 2012, 08:07 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I'm unable to send you a PM. But here is the link to my Error Log. http://www.mediafire...360t0nysrxx0m1c



Any luck Christian?

#12 Christian

Christian

    Bitdefender Support

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BitDefender HQ
  • Interests:Private

Posted 02 July 2012 - 04:31 PM

Hello smile.gif

I recommend you to make a clean install by using these steps and it should all be OK after.

http://forum.bitdefe...t...f=241&id=44

Take care.

#13 drewmar

drewmar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 10 July 2012 - 01:42 AM

QUOTE (Christian @ Jul 2 2012, 08:31 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hello smile.gif

I recommend you to make a clean install by using these steps and it should all be OK after.

http://forum.bitdefe...t...f=241&id=44

Take care.



I was going to attempt this today because I'm still having issues. BUT.... If I uninstall and reinstall will it need my key again??? Cause I don't have anymore downloads of my key. I have used all 3. I don't want to uninstall to only find out I cant activate it after. During my first installation of the program I had screwed up and had to redo it twice, using all of my keys in the process.

Please let me know if I'll be able to install it again.

#14 Christian

Christian

    Bitdefender Support

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BitDefender HQ
  • Interests:Private

Posted 11 July 2012 - 12:21 AM

Hello smile.gif

The license is generated per user, not per downloads/installations. You can reinstall the product and use the same key, but not for more than 3 PCs.

Take care.

#15 drewmar

drewmar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 19 August 2012 - 09:03 PM

QUOTE (Christian @ Jul 10 2012, 04:21 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hello smile.gif

The license is generated per user, not per downloads/installations. You can reinstall the product and use the same key, but not for more than 3 PCs.

Take care.



Hello again Christian......

Today I finally tried to reinstall my 2012 Bitdefender Internet Security from the links I had found in an earlier reply you sent me.

But I have encountered some issues.....

My first issue was that after I uninstalled my current version and then installed the new 2013 version, I STILL have that annoying window popping up whenever I reboot my laptop AND ALSO all of my desktop icons get rearranged to the upper left corner. IT IS VERY ANNOYING. Anyways, that was the original issue I was having and I have sent you screenshots of it in the past. I still have this issue and REINSTALLING did nothing but get me the new 2013 version.

BUT I think I may know where something went wrong. When 2013 got installed my internet didn't work as it changed all of the Bitdefender Firewall settings (An issue i had in the past but resolved it by changing some settings, which you sent to me in a link). It was also trying to do an update when the 2013 was installed but failed immediately because of no internet access. I changed the firewall settings and got internet back and the update was completed. I rebooted after and still have the same problems with the rearranging icons and the blank window appearing.

If you want I can send some more screenshots of the same problem in the past and I can also run and create an error log using the Bitdefender support tool.



ALSO.... I have one more issue. I'm only on the 30 day trial right now as I cannot log in. I guess I forgot my password (which is odd cause I only use 2 different ones). And when I use the forgot password link I try to change it, but the bitdefender website comes up with this little red writing saying "An unknown error has occured. Please try again later"

So I'm also unable to login until that issue is fixed too. If you want I can PM you my login username



Thanks and I hope you can look into and resolve these issues. It will be a big help.


#16 Christian

Christian

    Bitdefender Support

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BitDefender HQ
  • Interests:Private

Posted 20 August 2012 - 12:33 AM

Hi smile.gif

Please follow the steps explained in the article below and send me via PM the generated log file:

http://forum.bitdefe...showtopic=29927

If the file is too big to attach it, upload it on

http://www.sendspace.com

or

http://www.mediafire.com

and send me a PM with the download link.

Also, put in the PM the email address that you used to register the My Bitdefender Account.

Have a nice day.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users