Jump to content


Photo

Firewall Inadequate


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 DJKinG

DJKinG

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 24 April 2012 - 11:52 AM

I am starting to get very upset with Bitdefender because the firewall settings/panel simply does not tell you what program is using your connection.

I have a little Windows 7 gadget at the bottom left of my desktop that would show that my line is being maxed out and while I am on Teamspeak I can see that my ping is sky rocketing but when I go to the Bitdefender firewall and click on Firewall activity it doesn't show anything using my line.

I had absolutely no problems when I had Eset, when I went to its firewall settings it would plainly show me what programs were using my line.

I'm getting really frustrated now over this, I have just had to disable my network and re-enable it simply due to the fact that I have no idea what program is using my internet at the time since Bitdefender doesn't seem to be able to tell me.

Is there anyway to get a clear answer from Bitdefender what program is using my line when I need to or do I have to install Netlimiter or something.

sad.gif

#2 Christian

Christian

    Bitdefender Support

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BitDefender HQ
  • Interests:Private

Posted 25 April 2012 - 05:03 PM

Hello smile.gif

Welcome back!

We do have an option in the firewall module.

Open Bitdefender, click on Settings and go to the Firewall module.

From there, choose the Advanced tab.

Click on Firewall activity and you have a live overview of all the connections running through the Firewall module.

Let me know if you have other questions.

Take care.
Attached File  fwpr.png   42.75KB   15 downloads



#3 DJKinG

DJKinG

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 25 April 2012 - 09:46 PM

QUOTE (Christian @ Apr 25 2012, 05:03 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hello smile.gif

Welcome back!

We do have an option in the firewall module.

Open Bitdefender, click on Settings and go to the Firewall module.

From there, choose the Advanced tab.

Click on Firewall activity and you have a live overview of all the connections running through the Firewall module.

Let me know if you have other questions.

Take care.
Attached File  fwpr.png   42.75KB   15 downloads



Hi there Christian

I am talking about that, when I go to that module it doesn't indicate any program using my ADSL line but on the widget on my desktop it shows that my ADSL line is being maxed out.


#4 Christian

Christian

    Bitdefender Support

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BitDefender HQ
  • Interests:Private

Posted 26 April 2012 - 11:07 AM

Hi smile.gif

Could you please provide me more details about your line?

Do you use a modem or a router?

Could you please make a screenshot from that section and post it here?

Take care.

#5 DJKinG

DJKinG

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 April 2012 - 09:52 PM

QUOTE (Christian @ Apr 26 2012, 11:07 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi smile.gif

Could you please provide me more details about your line?

Do you use a modem or a router?

Could you please make a screenshot from that section and post it here?

Take care.


Hi there Christian

I pinpointed the program using my line, it's Bitdefender updating. rolleyes.gif

Thanks for your help.

#6 Christian

Christian

    Bitdefender Support

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BitDefender HQ
  • Interests:Private

Posted 28 April 2012 - 09:44 AM

Hi smile.gif

Bitdefender download virus definitions hourly, there is nothing to worry about.

If you don't want to do this, you can turn off Auto Update and we recommend you to update it at least once a day.

Take care.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users