Jump to content


Photo

Bd 2012 Problem With Vista


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Himendra

Himendra

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 March 2012 - 09:37 PM

QUOTE (Christian @ Feb 14 2012, 04:14 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi smile.gif

As the new Bitdefender 2012 product suite was released, we would like to inform you that you benefit from a FREE upgrade to the latest version.
Apart from the fact that the 2012 suite brings lots of new features and improvements, it will most likely solve any issues that you may have encountered with your previous Bitdefender product.

Please check out this announcement:

http://forum.bitdefe...t...f=210&id=42

Thank you.


Hi,
I have installed BD Total security 2012 in my Vista Ultimate laptop, but the windows did not start after restarting the computer. It hangs for-ever just before the "welcome" screen, showing only the mouse arrow. I even re-stored my computer (thinking that it is due to windows fault) and installed the BD 2012, again same problem, it hangs for ever. After several re-boot_s, finally I found that, if I do not install the BD the computer work perfectly fine. Once I install the BD it hangs forever again with blank screen and arrow, then I re-started the computer in safe mode and removed the BD, and again the computer works fine. Right now I have Avast (free edition) in my computer and seems no problem.
I have been using BD in the same computer since 2009, without much trouble, and I was happy about the product. Please tell me if there is any solution for this problem. I cant send the error data because I cant start the computer with BD. (I do not want to lose my money paying again for another security software).
Thank you very much in advance.

#2 Christian

Christian

    Bitdefender Support

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BitDefender HQ
  • Interests:Private

Posted 10 March 2012 - 04:57 AM

Hi smile.gif

Welcome to the forums.

Please follow the steps explained in the article below and send me via PM the generated log file:

http://forum.bitdefe...showtopic=29927

If you were already asked to generate the log file, disregard the message above and just post the ticket ID.

Thank you.

#3 Himendra

Himendra

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 April 2012 - 03:31 PM

Hi Guys....
Any solution to my problem...? sad.gif

#4 sinclair

sinclair

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 April 2012 - 02:53 AM

QUOTE (Himendra @ Apr 6 2012, 03:31 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi Guys....
Any solution to my problem...? sad.gif


I'm experiencing the same problem - hangs in welcome screen or I get black screen - if it lets me access my computer the windows graphics ae all pre XP (ir the old grey classic look) as though I'm in safe mode. I've had this issue before and had to go back to BD 2010 - however I cant do this now because BD 2010 is no longer supported and keeps shutting doen on my desktop leaving me without protection.

Will submit log to see what happens...


#5 g.shepherd

g.shepherd

    Newbie

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • 22 posts

Posted 08 April 2012 - 05:17 AM

what? you still have vista,sheesh.

#6 sinclair

sinclair

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 April 2012 - 08:44 AM

QUOTE (g.shepherd @ Apr 8 2012, 05:17 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
what? you still have vista,sheesh.



lol - yeah I know wacko.gif

#7 Christian

Christian

    Bitdefender Support

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BitDefender HQ
  • Interests:Private

Posted 08 April 2012 - 09:03 AM

Hello smile.gif

Please save the update patch from the following link on your Desktop:

http://www.mediafire...b5zzaztybk21zn8

Unzip the test.bat file, but do not run it.

The password for the archive is: bitdefender

Now restart your PC in Safe Mode and run that patch(for Windows Vista/7, right click on the file test.bat and choose Run as administrator).

Reboot your machine in Normal Mode, open Bitdefender using the desktop icon and click on Update now button.

Let me know if the situation is solved.

[How to restart in Safe Mode]
- Restart the computer (Windows Start button - Turn Off - Restart);
- Press the "F8" key several times before Microsoft Windows begins to load; you need to press "F8" until you will be displayed a text menu;
- Select "SAFE MODE with Networking" in the text menu and press "Enter".
- Wait while Windows loads in Safe Mode; this process ends with a confirmation message; click "OK" to acknowledge.

Have a nice day.

#8 Himendra

Himendra

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 April 2012 - 10:04 AM

Thank you Christian & Sinclair,
I tried the update patch, as you said, but did not work again. However, afterwards I installed BDTS 2011 version and seems working. Till now no problem.....so far 3-4 restarts. By the way, I will be protected as good as new version right (except new look)?

Have a good day....................

#9 anders_bennett

anders_bennett

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 09 April 2012 - 12:20 PM

Hi,

I've made some posts earlier regarding the same issue in another thread, but I don't think a viable solution has been presented yet. Is there any progress on this problem?

BR.

#10 Christian

Christian

    Bitdefender Support

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BitDefender HQ
  • Interests:Private

Posted 09 April 2012 - 12:30 PM

Hello smile.gif

Have you tried the method posted here?

http://forum.bitdefe...o...st&p=140597

Take care.

#11 anders_bennett

anders_bennett

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 10 April 2012 - 11:27 AM

QUOTE (Christian @ Apr 9 2012, 12:30 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hello smile.gif

Have you tried the method posted here?

http://forum.bitdefe...o...st&p=140597

Take care.


Hello,

No I haven't tried that solution, since the user Himendra reported that it did not help. I will try it out and return with feedback.

BR.

#12 william070707

william070707

    Newbie

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • 20 posts

Posted 10 April 2012 - 01:03 PM

Hi anders_bennett,

You could have tried with the above link. May be possible that you may overcome your problem. Everyone's system and hardware configuration is different,who knows it may work in you


__________________
God never made his work for man to mend


#13 anders_bennett

anders_bennett

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 10 April 2012 - 09:40 PM

QUOTE (william070707 @ Apr 10 2012, 01:03 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi anders_bennett,

You could have tried with the above link. May be possible that you may overcome your problem. Everyone's system and hardware configuration is different,who knows it may work in you


__________________
God never made his work for man to mend


Hi,

It didn't work, unfortunately. The issue with a black Vista screen with only the mouse pointer is still present. I've uninstalled BD Security 2012 again :-(

#14 sinclair

sinclair

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 April 2012 - 09:30 AM

QUOTE (anders_bennett @ Apr 10 2012, 09:40 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi,

It didn't work, unfortunately. The issue with a black Vista screen with only the mouse pointer is still present. I've uninstalled BD Security 2012 again :-(


I'm the same - I installed the patch and rebooted - everything seemed to work. Shut down PC and rebooted again this morning to get the very long welcome screen after log in and then the black dcreen with mouse pointer.

I've sent my log file to christian...will try the other options listed in the meantime.

Thanks

Adrian



#15 Christian

Christian

    Bitdefender Support

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BitDefender HQ
  • Interests:Private

Posted 12 April 2012 - 12:07 PM

Hello everyone smile.gif

In order to further investigate this issue, we need some logs.

Please follow the steps posted over here and send me via PM the logs.

http://forum.bitdefe...o...st&p=139378

Thank you very much for your time.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users