Jump to content


Photo

Adaware Conflict


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 kammies

kammies

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 03 February 2012 - 07:12 AM

trying to install Bitdefender, it said there was a conflict with adaware and did I want bitdefender to unistall it. I clicked yes. Now I just get an error that adaware cant start because a mia.lib file is missing. I have reinstalled adaware, deleted it through windows uninstall program, searched my computer for any adaware files, and find nothing. But bitdefender still seems to insist that there is adaware on my computer and i can't get past the mia.lib file is missing.

I emailed customer support. they emailed me back and asked for screen shots of this. I sent them. and have not heard back, even after I have emailed them twice more. Needless to say, I am quite frustrated. I have never had such difficulty with a program before.

#2 LordNakhlan

LordNakhlan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nashville, TN, USA

Posted 03 February 2012 - 07:47 PM

QUOTE (kammies @ Feb 2 2012, 11:12 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
trying to install Bitdefender, it said there was a conflict with adaware and did I want bitdefender to unistall it. I clicked yes. Now I just get an error that adaware cant start because a mia.lib file is missing. I have reinstalled adaware, deleted it through windows uninstall program, searched my computer for any adaware files, and find nothing. But bitdefender still seems to insist that there is adaware on my computer and i can't get past the mia.lib file is missing.

I emailed customer support. they emailed me back and asked for screen shots of this. I sent them. and have not heard back, even after I have emailed them twice more. Needless to say, I am quite frustrated. I have never had such difficulty with a program before.


I believe this is an InstallAware issue. Have you tried clearing out all of your %TEMP% files on your PC? I mean delete the contents of all of your temporary folders and perhaps all sub-folders as well. Reboot your PC and see if you can try reinstalling BitDefender. See if that works and let us know.

EDIT: By the way, I am just a user and not associated with BitDefender, but I wanted to try and help.

Edited by LordNakhlan, 03 February 2012 - 07:52 PM.


#3 columbo

columbo

    Guru Poster

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,138 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lake Wobegon, MN

Posted 03 February 2012 - 08:50 PM

Yes, unfortunately there isn't an uninstall tool for Ad Aware, and is only suggested to use Revo Uninstaller to completely uninstall it.
http://www.lavasofts...showtopic=30850

Did you try Bitdefender phone support?



#4 kammies

kammies

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 03 February 2012 - 10:25 PM

The Revo Uninstaller did the trick!! thanks for all your replies.

Edited by Christian, 04 February 2012 - 04:08 PM.
removed quote


#5 columbo

columbo

    Guru Poster

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,138 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lake Wobegon, MN

Posted 03 February 2012 - 10:50 PM

Super smile.gif Thanks for letting us know smile.gif

Edited by columbo, 03 February 2012 - 10:51 PM.


#6 Christian

Christian

    Bitdefender Support

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BitDefender HQ
  • Interests:Private

Posted 04 February 2012 - 04:09 PM

Hello smile.gif

That software is well known for leaving leftovers in the system.

You can clean them our with any temp files and registry cleaner.

You have the installations steps here:

http://forum.bitdefe...t...f=241&id=44

Take care.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users