Jump to content


Photo

Cant Even Run Installation


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 DaveyP16

DaveyP16

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 05 October 2011 - 05:11 PM

I have recently bought a new PC. Win 7 64 it, 8gb ram, i7 2600.

I have tried everything I can think of to install total security 2012 (I already have a paid subscription coming to an end and won't be renewing at this rate.) It is already installed on my other home PC and wifes Laptop.

I have used numerous kits to try and get it to install and no luck. I was getting the same error even before I first connected to the internet on initial setup.

I have tried unblocking, running as admin etc etc etc.

What happens is every time I run the installer it just pops up an error box saying 'This application cannot be run on your machine.'

I also have this intel rapid storage technology running if that would make a difference?

Oh and I have also contacted support but have not had a reply as yet.

Attached Files


Edited by DaveyP16, 05 October 2011 - 05:18 PM.


#2 huot96

huot96

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 October 2011 - 03:14 AM

QUOTE (DaveyP16 @ Oct 5 2011, 06:11 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I have recently bought a new PC. Win 7 64 it, 8gb ram, i7 2600.

I have tried everything I can think of to install total security 2012 (I already have a paid subscription coming to an end and won't be renewing at this rate.) It is already installed on my other home PC and wifes Laptop.

I have used numerous kits to try and get it to install and no luck. I was getting the same error even before I first connected to the internet on initial setup.

I have tried unblocking, running as admin etc etc etc.

What happens is every time I run the installer it just pops up an error box saying 'This application cannot be run on your machine.'

I also have this intel rapid storage technology running if that would make a difference?

Oh and I have also contacted support but have not had a reply as yet.


Hi,

I got the same problem:
- Bitdefender Antivirus Plus 2012 (bought on 2011-10-05) - 2 year / 3 PC
- Windows 7 Pro SP1 32bits, 4 Gb RAM - french
- CPU = Intel Quad Q6600 2.4 GHz

Thanks for your help,

Sylvain


#3 huot96

huot96

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 October 2011 - 07:20 AM

Hi again,

Here is the solution that work for me:
- first i tried to install the free version of Bitdefender because i have no more antivirus program (i had NOD32 before)
- i tried to install 2012 over 2009 - don't work - same message (This application cannot be run on your machine)
- remove 2009
- retried 2010 - don't work
- read a little support online
- and i said to myself "What the heck ?" - i downloaded the program "BitDefender_Uninstall_Tool.exe" for the link "http://www.bitdefend....com/uninstall" from the page "How to Upgrade from BitDefender 2009/2010/2011 to BitDefender 2012?"
- ran BitDefender_Uninstall_Tool and choose "All Bitdefender product"
- retry the installation CD - and the magic work but don't ask me how

Bitdefender Antivirus Plus 2012 is now installed on my system.

Regards,

Sylvain

#4 DaveyP16

DaveyP16

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 06 October 2011 - 10:41 AM

Hi thanks for the tip, but unfortunately I have tried this and it didnt work.

Thanks

#5 DaveyP16

DaveyP16

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 09 October 2011 - 12:50 PM

Bump anyone else had this and sorted it. Sent my file log to BD and heard nothing back after 2 emails

#6 nikki605

nikki605

    Veteran Poster

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,308 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, FL USA

Posted 09 October 2011 - 02:06 PM

QUOTE (DaveyP16 @ Oct 9 2011, 06:50 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Bump anyone else had this and sorted it. Sent my file log to BD and heard nothing back after 2 emails

How did you "send" your log file? Do you have a BD ticket number? If you do, please post it here.

Regards,

#7 DaveyP16

DaveyP16

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 09 October 2011 - 04:54 PM

Hi

sent via reply to email [Ticket ID:201110051000731]

Thanks

#8 DaveyP16

DaveyP16

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 October 2011 - 10:37 PM

bump

#9 DanyDan

DanyDan

    Guru Poster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,616 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:EU

Posted 19 October 2011 - 09:32 AM

Hi Davey,

Please generate a new support tool log to verify that you removed the other security solution you had installed. Also please mention the name and the size of the installation kit file you are using when trying to install Bitdefender.



#10 wazzup

wazzup

    Newbie

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • 27 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 11:01 PM

I have exactly the same problem but with 2013.

First I had to manually look up the uninstall file in the home folder and run the uninstaller but it won't delete the registry entries for some reason and therefore it won't delete the bitdefender directory. Trying to install 2013 over again doesn't work since it says it can't run on my machine which it has before.

I am running win 8 64-bit.

#11 Georgia

Georgia

    Guru Poster

  • Technical Support
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,528 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 27 March 2013 - 11:25 PM

Hi wazzup,

To further investigate this case, please post here a support tool log:

http://forum.bitdefe...showtopic=29927

If the file is too big to attach it, upload it on

http://www.sendspace.com

or

http://www.mediafire.com

and post the download link.

If you were already asked to generate the log file, disregard the above message and just post the ticket ID.

Have a nice day!

#12 TessellatedMind

TessellatedMind

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 April 2013 - 04:07 PM

Hi Georgia,

I'm having the same issue. I attached a bug report.

I know BitDefender is a great product, but I can't even install a trial. C'mon you guys I know you can do it!

System specs:
Intel i5 3570k
Gigabyte Z77X-D3H
16GB RAM
OCZ Vertex 4 SSD

QUOTE (Georgia @ Mar 28 2013, 12:00 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi wazzup,

To further investigate this case, please post here a support tool log:

http://forum.bitdefe...showtopic=29927

If the file is too big to attach it, upload it on

http://www.sendspace.com

or

http://www.mediafire.com

and post the download link.

If you were already asked to generate the log file, disregard the above message and just post the ticket ID.

Have a nice day!



#13 TessellatedMind

TessellatedMind

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 April 2013 - 04:09 PM

Looks like the report didn't get attached. Here's a download link - http://dl.transfer.r...0apr-776941.zip


#14 Georgia

Georgia

    Guru Poster

  • Technical Support
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,528 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 10 April 2013 - 10:07 PM

Hi,

@ TessellatedMind: I see your thread is also discussed on the Romanian forum, so I will take it from there:

http://forum.bitdefe...o...st&p=182573




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users