Jump to content


Photo

Bad Update Or....? - Solution Here: Http://forum.bitdefender.com/index.php?showtopic=18789


  • Please log in to reply
1650 replies to this topic

#1 L.o.D.

L.o.D.

    Regular Poster

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • PipPip
  • 274 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:19 PM

Anyone else have BD going ballistic today?
Mine's suddenly telling me it's blocking viruses left right & center when I had no issues prior.
I am currently scanning with malwarebytes.

Edited by crysty2k5, 20 March 2010 - 08:29 PM.


#2 Wolfspirit

Wolfspirit

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:21 PM

QUOTE (L.o.D. @ Mar 20 2010, 06:19 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Anyone else have BD going ballistic today?
Mine's suddenly telling me it's blocking viruses left right & center when I had no issues prior.
I am currently scanning with malwarebytes.


Since an Update it's telling me I've "FakeAlert.5" in mostly every file?!

That's impossible.

#3 L.o.D.

L.o.D.

    Regular Poster

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • PipPip
  • 274 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:22 PM

I seen that as well.

#4 Herman Melville

Herman Melville

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:24 PM

QUOTE (Wolfspirit @ Mar 20 2010, 11:21 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Since an Update it's telling me I've "FakeAlert.5" in mostly every file?!

That's impossible.


It's telling me that BitDefender's own .dlls and such are viruses.

Along with numerous other essential files in system32 and syswow64.

Update is definitely botched. Until its fixed, turn off your realtime protection to save your own computer from deleting itself to death.

#5 Cristi

Cristi

    Technical Support

  • Technical Support
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,575 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BD HQ

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:27 PM

Hello all,

Please provide the exact detection name and the file location.
Also if possible please send me by PM a sample file.

Cris.

#6 lhmathys

lhmathys

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:30 PM

This is happening to me, too. EVERY file that is trying to run is getting quarantined. Windows Explorer and even Bitdefender update itself is being quarantined. Someone really screwed this one up.

#7 Herman Melville

Herman Melville

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:31 PM

QUOTE (Cristi Raducu @ Mar 20 2010, 11:27 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hello all,

Please provide the exact detection name and the file location.
Also if possible please send me by PM a sample file.

Cris.


problem is, there is at least 50 files in quarantine that BitDefender relegated as a malware.



#8 L.o.D.

L.o.D.

    Regular Poster

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • PipPip
  • 274 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:32 PM

cristi, it's trojan.fakealert.s for me.

#9 mhs

mhs

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:32 PM

I'm getting this too. Before I could shut off BitDefender it quarantined most of my system, including BitDefender itself!

What do I do? Most programs do not work. The computer barely booted (did some kind of repair first).

How do I unquarantine the files without BitDefender?

HELP!

#10 tay.alrawi@gmail.com

tay.alrawi@gmail.com

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:32 PM

Bitdefender is going crazy today!!!... it blocks all the EXE files including cmd.exe....the trojan name called fake5
Hurry up...we need fixes soon
I've turned the realtime protection!!


#11 Wolfspirit

Wolfspirit

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:33 PM

haha...

File C:\Windows\System32\de-DE\ws2_32.dll.mui
Date: Saturday, 20. March 2010 17:00:01
Virusname: Trojan.FakeAlert.5
Action: Moved to Quarantane

(I've the german version so...tried to translate it)

Same for

C:\Windows\System32\de-DE\audiodg.exe.mui
C:\Windows\System32\de-DE\dwm.exe.mui
C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\3D Vision\nvstres.dll

AND now the funniest thing:

C:\Program Files\BitDefender\Bitdefender 2010\vsserv.exe
Action: blocked


I deactivated my antivirus now...


#12 Herman Melville

Herman Melville

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:37 PM

this is ridiculous. We paid for a program to protect our computer, but it instead obliterates our system from the inside. Literally.

#13 Beleg

Beleg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:38 PM

Same Issue here, i want to start some programm and this messages popups. I have also deactivated now the AntiVirus Part of Bitdefender. I hope there is soon a updated and fixed Virus Pattern.

#14 Mikal

Mikal

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:42 PM

Trojan.FakeAlert.5

Both computers after last update.
So many system files moved to Quarantine (where is Quarantine? can't find it) I dare not restart my PC since it will not boot again since windows installer is one of the files blitzed.

Example

C:\Windows\SysWOW64\en-US\msxml3r.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\en-US\netcenter.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\en-US\main.cpl
explorer.exe
wermgr.exe
C:\Program Files\Bitdefender 2010\updatepatch.exe

Way to many to pull off.

#15 L.o.D.

L.o.D.

    Regular Poster

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • PipPip
  • 274 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:44 PM

malwarebytes is not finding anything at all.

#16 testtube13

testtube13

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:45 PM

Mine is doing the exact same thing as well. This is very frustrating. . .
A quick fix for this would be much appreciated.

#17 Mikal

Mikal

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:46 PM

QUOTE (testtube13 @ Mar 20 2010, 07:45 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Mine is doing the exact same thing as well. This is very frustrating. . .
A quick fix for this would be much appreciated.


Any quick fix won't work since it quarantines the update exe

#18 ethunder123

ethunder123

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:49 PM

The same problem here on my PC:
Around 50 Files are moved to Quarantine.
Reason also: Trojan.FakeAlert.5

Because my PC didn't respond well i tried to reboot it.
Now it doesn't start anymore because of missing system files.

Is there a chance to move the files back with the Rescue CD?

Or what is the best way to get my PC running again?


#19 Wolfspirit

Wolfspirit

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:53 PM

QUOTE (Mikal @ Mar 20 2010, 07:46 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Any quick fix won't work since it quarantines the update exe


ROFL!

Sorry...but it's kind of funny...
I'm so happy, that it quarantied only 3 system files for me, before I turned it off....
I tried to play them back...but they are still existing...
I hope it's working on restart...

Isn't it possible to unquarantine the update.exe and turn off the virusscan before?

Edited by Wolfspirit, 20 March 2010 - 06:55 PM.


#20 AndreiRC

AndreiRC

    Regular Poster

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • PipPip
  • 282 posts

Posted 20 March 2010 - 06:53 PM

Are you guys on Windows 7 64bit? The same thing is being posted on the German forum and that's the thing they have in common.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users