Jump to content


Photo

How Do Exit Bitdefender Completely?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
11 replies to this topic

#1 Furia

Furia

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 September 2009 - 05:05 PM

Can someone tell me how I can exit / shut down BitDefender program completely?
so that it does not run in the background at all.
Evaluating BitDefender at the moment and is like everything except this.

Edited by Furia, 06 September 2009 - 05:07 PM.


#2 Furia

Furia

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 September 2009 - 05:32 PM

please excuse the broken English demonstrated in the opening post.

#3 stevenomes

stevenomes

    Poster

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • Pip
  • 55 posts

Posted 06 September 2009 - 08:24 PM

I know you can go into the settings button at the top right of the screen. There a bunch of checkmarks there. Just disable the ones you dont want, mainly Antivirus and Firewall etc. Or just uncheck them all and then run your other program. When your done you can just go back in and recheck these boxes to enable BD again. As for switching it totally off, im not really sure. You used to be able to right click on the icon in the task bar and just shut it down but now it doesnt seem to have that option.

#4 Siggy

Siggy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 06 September 2009 - 08:34 PM

QUOTE (Furia @ Sep 6 2009, 05:32 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
please excuse the broken English demonstrated in the opening post.


It's not that easy. You have to disable BitDefender services (in safe mode).


#5 Furia

Furia

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 07 September 2009 - 07:16 AM

Thanks happy.gif

#6 breadncheese

breadncheese

    Newbie

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • 48 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted 07 September 2009 - 09:54 AM

To shut down Bitdefender totally do the following:-

Start Button
Run
Type cmd (opens an MS-DOS window)
Type the following commands:-
cd\
cd program files
cd bitdefender
cd bitdefender 2010
bdagent /stop

To restart type the following commands
cd\
cd program files
cd bitdefender
cd bitdefender 2010
bdagent /start

#7 Alex Stanciu

Alex Stanciu

    Technical Support

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,834 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bucharest, Romania

Posted 07 September 2009 - 03:27 PM

Hello Furia,

The instructions provided by breadncheese, will only stop BitDefender from displaying on your system tray . If you want to completely disable the BitDefender services please follow the steps bellow :

1. Start your computer in Safe Mode:

- restart the computer;
- repeatedly press the "F8" key several times before Microsoft Windows begins
to load (you need to press "F8" until you will be displayed a text menu);
- select "SAFE MODE" in the text menu and press "Enter".
- wait while Windows loads in Safe Mode; this process ends with a confirmation
message; click "Yes" to acknowledge.

2. Click on Start from Windows and choose Run. Type "services.msc" (without quoutes) then click on Ok .
3. In the list of services look after "BitDefender Virus Shield", right click on it and under "Startup type" choose "Manual" .
4. Now, restart your computer in Normal Mode and try to open BitDefender. You will have the message that the BitDefender Services are not responding.
5. In order to start the BitDefender services again, follow the second step, right click on "BitDefender Virus Shield" and choose "Start".

Thank you .

#8 stevenomes

stevenomes

    Poster

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • Pip
  • 55 posts

Posted 07 September 2009 - 06:34 PM

Wow this seems really complicated. why can we not just right click on the system trey icon and hit exit. I know we used to be able to do this with the older BD applications.


#9 Alex Stanciu

Alex Stanciu

    Technical Support

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,834 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bucharest, Romania

Posted 08 September 2009 - 10:05 AM

Hello stevenomes,

Due to security reasons, in our latest BitDefender product was introduced a self protect system, which will not allow any modifications on the program files or registries. You can disable from the product different modules, but the main BitDefender service will still remain active and if you have an application that requires you to stop completely your antivirus program, you must apply the steps provided in my last post.

Thank you .

#10 Viscon

Viscon

    Regular Poster

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts

Posted 08 September 2009 - 10:21 AM

there are viruses, trojans and malware that attempt to disable protection before they execute.
so IF Bit Defender self protection is effective against these situations, it's good it exists,
and it is convenient indeed that you can't disable BD in normal OS mode.

i understand that some ppl may want to release resources taken by BD,
on the other hand though i must admit to be pleasently surprised
that BDIS 2010 is less resources hungry than its predecessor...
well, at least on my XP Pro 32bit PC.

i only hope none of future product updates will bring troubles,
like it used to be with BDIS 2009.
happy.gif

#11 L.o.D.

L.o.D.

    Regular Poster

  • Regular Bitdefender Poster
  • PipPip
  • 274 posts

Posted 10 July 2012 - 09:52 PM

What if you cannot access safemode due to a glitch that claims no keyboard present during bootup? Keyboard works flawless once in windows though.
Don't have a wired keyboard, only USB.


#12 Christian

Christian

    Bitdefender Support

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BitDefender HQ
  • Interests:Private

Posted 11 July 2012 - 12:19 AM

Hi smile.gif

That post is from 2009, I think he resolved the issue.

If the keyboard is wireless, you should try to use a normal one over PS2 or USB(during Windows installations you have to use a wired one). With that one, you can access Safe Mode for sure bu pressing F8 key.

Take care.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users