Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
> Ie9 Home Page "blank" (about:blank)
Kent 7734
post Feb 11 2012, 02:11 AM
Post #1


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 5-February 12
Member No.: 90,735



I have two problems that are somewhat related.
I loose my System Tray Icon for Bitdefender.
I have done Bitdefender Repair and sometimes it works. When I do the Repair, is when I have the other problem.

Internet Explorer 9 Home Page set to Blank (about:blank), and I can't change it. I was told by Bitdefender support to uninstall and reinstall IE9. This does work, but after the 4th or 5th time, it is getting tiring.

My questions are:

1. Is there a way to get my missing Icon back without doing a repair?
2. Is there a way to fix the problem with IE9 without having to uninstall and reinstall it?

Thank You
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Roofmonkey
post Feb 11 2012, 06:27 AM
Post #2


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 2-February 12
Member No.: 89,855



It's nothing to do with Internet Explorer. It’s Bitdefender. I'm currently having about 1 million "back & forth" emails to support about these and other issues.

I sometimes found that re-starting your PC & then going IE's settings would allow me to change my home page from "about:blank" to whatever I wanted. Other times it would not work. Repair installs have caused more hassles for me. The worst being all websites were blocked with an "invalid certificate" error message page. There was an option to "go there anyway" on the error page, yet it would just take me back to the same error message, effectively stopping me from accessing any websites at all. I uninstalled Bitdefender via their uninstall tool and lo and behold - I could change my home page and it remained set on what I wanted it to. Plus the certificate error issue magically disappeared. The home page issue is not IE's fault.

As far as the missing tray icon - well I'm up to 5 uninstalls / re-installs and what seems like a bazillion emails to support. A different person replies after some time and they get me to run yet another scan / log generation tool, only to reply days later that "sorry - the logs generated were corrupt - try this one and do it again". I've sent off 3 or 4 different log files gathered by software they have told me to use and get the same response every time. That plus the fact that these log files that are generated by their own software are password locked, so I have no idea what data I’m sending off to complete strangers. I've virus scanned my machine with every virus scanner in existence (well it feels like it!), as per their requests and still nothing. I’ve only owned this “Security Suite” for a month. I came to it as a new user.

Logging on and off sometimes would restore the tray icon for me but it seems to degrade to a point where even that doesn't work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Christian
post Feb 12 2012, 11:29 AM
Post #3


Bitdefender Support
******

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 13,998
Joined: 27-January 08
From: BitDefender HQ
Member No.: 9,374



Hi Kent 7734 (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Please follow the steps explained in the article below and send me via PM the generated log file:

http://forum.bitdefender.com/index.php?showtopic=29927

If you were already asked to generate the log file, disregard the message above and just post the ticket ID.

@ Roofmonkey

We will continue the discussion on your topic:

http://forum.bitdefender.com/index.php?showtopic=32071

Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kent 7734
post Feb 12 2012, 09:20 PM
Post #4


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 5-February 12
Member No.: 90,735




http://www.sendspace.com/file/7u8xa5

Here is the link for this file.
BDSP_KIRKKENT-PC_2012_02_05_09_21

Kent 7734


QUOTE (Christian @ Feb 12 2012, 01:29 PM) *
Hi Kent 7734 (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Please follow the steps explained in the article below and send me via PM the generated log file:

http://forum.bitdefender.com/index.php?showtopic=29927

If you were already asked to generate the log file, disregard the message above and just post the ticket ID.

@ Roofmonkey

We will continue the discussion on your topic:

http://forum.bitdefender.com/index.php?showtopic=32071

Thank you.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Christian
post Feb 21 2012, 04:03 AM
Post #5


Bitdefender Support
******

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 13,998
Joined: 27-January 08
From: BitDefender HQ
Member No.: 9,374



Hi

In order to be able to properly identify the causes for the reported situation and find a solution we will need to investigate a bit deeper.

Please follow the steps below and send us the result:

a ) Go to this page
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinte...s/bb963902.aspx and download the autoruns file.
b ) Extract the contents of the downloaded file and run the 'autoruns.exe' file;
c ) Wait for the list to be filled with all the processes and then make sure that you have the Everything tab selected in the upper part;
d ) Click on the Disk icon right under File and chose any location folder on your computer;
e ) Save the file with a specific name (your name, computer name, a random name, which one you want) and then send me a PM with it.

If the file is too big to attach it, upload it on

http://www.sendspace.com

or

http://www.mediafire.com

and send me a PM with the download link.

We will analyze the information you sent and then reply with a possible solution in the shortest time.

Have a nice day.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nickalls
post Apr 4 2012, 01:37 PM
Post #6


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 4-April 12
Member No.: 102,871



Hi there,

I'm having the same issue.. You guys fixed this yet? IE9 and latest version of BIS2012 installed today. Not a great first impression for award winning software?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Roofmonkey
post Apr 6 2012, 12:59 AM
Post #7


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 2-February 12
Member No.: 89,855



Seriously - just get rid of Bitdefender. I persisted for a month or so with this and many other issues, poor support (asking me to provide the same thing over & over, generic replies that proved they hadn't read the problems I was having) and running around in circles getting no-where.

I gave up and got a refund.

I always said I wouldn't use Norton but I decided to give their 2012 Internet Security Suite a go. I've had it for 2 months now and I have not encountered a SINGLE issue. Even minor. No impact on my PC's performance. It just does as it should without me even noticing it's there! Exactly what I wanted. I'm very happy with it.

Good luck! (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

This post has been edited by Roofmonkey: Apr 6 2012, 01:00 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gts1983
post Apr 6 2012, 01:57 AM
Post #8


Newbie


Group: Regular Bitdefender Poster
Posts: 39
Joined: 15-December 11
Member No.: 84,957



QUOTE (Roofmonkey @ Apr 6 2012, 01:59 AM) *
Seriously - just get rid of Bitdefender. I persisted for a month or so with this and many other issues, poor support (asking me to provide the same thing over & over, generic replies that proved they hadn't read the problems I was having) and running around in circles getting no-where.

I gave up and got a refund.

I always said I wouldn't use Norton but I decided to give their 2012 Internet Security Suite a go. I've had it for 2 months now and I have not encountered a SINGLE issue. Even minor. No impact on my PC's performance. It just does as it should without me even noticing it's there! Exactly what I wanted. I'm very happy with it.

Good luck! (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

@roofmonkey

Way to go! BD is nothing but problems! I got rid of it 5 months ago while i still have 10 months of service. Honestly, even if this is a free software for life, i still wouldn't use it. I don't need the headaches with this software.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Christian
post Apr 8 2012, 11:14 AM
Post #9


Bitdefender Support
******

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 13,998
Joined: 27-January 08
From: BitDefender HQ
Member No.: 9,374



Hello (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

We apologize for any negative experience you have encountered with our products or our support. Your feedback is appreciated, and will be directed to the appropriate team for review, to enable us to improve our support and services.

Thank you for taking the time and please do not hesitate to contact us if you need further details from us.

Take care.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th August 2014 - 11:14 AM