Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cant Even Run Installation, This application cannot be run on your machine
DaveyP16
post Oct 5 2011, 04:11 PM
Post #1


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 5-October 11
Member No.: 76,346



I have recently bought a new PC. Win 7 64 it, 8gb ram, i7 2600.

I have tried everything I can think of to install total security 2012 (I already have a paid subscription coming to an end and won't be renewing at this rate.) It is already installed on my other home PC and wifes Laptop.

I have used numerous kits to try and get it to install and no luck. I was getting the same error even before I first connected to the internet on initial setup.

I have tried unblocking, running as admin etc etc etc.

What happens is every time I run the installer it just pops up an error box saying 'This application cannot be run on your machine.'

I also have this intel rapid storage technology running if that would make a difference?

Oh and I have also contacted support but have not had a reply as yet.

This post has been edited by DaveyP16: Oct 5 2011, 04:18 PM
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Bit_Defender_Error.JPG ( 15.94K ) Number of downloads: 14
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
huot96
post Oct 6 2011, 02:14 AM
Post #2


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 6-October 11
Member No.: 76,383



QUOTE (DaveyP16 @ Oct 5 2011, 06:11 PM) *
I have recently bought a new PC. Win 7 64 it, 8gb ram, i7 2600.

I have tried everything I can think of to install total security 2012 (I already have a paid subscription coming to an end and won't be renewing at this rate.) It is already installed on my other home PC and wifes Laptop.

I have used numerous kits to try and get it to install and no luck. I was getting the same error even before I first connected to the internet on initial setup.

I have tried unblocking, running as admin etc etc etc.

What happens is every time I run the installer it just pops up an error box saying 'This application cannot be run on your machine.'

I also have this intel rapid storage technology running if that would make a difference?

Oh and I have also contacted support but have not had a reply as yet.


Hi,

I got the same problem:
- Bitdefender Antivirus Plus 2012 (bought on 2011-10-05) - 2 year / 3 PC
- Windows 7 Pro SP1 32bits, 4 Gb RAM - french
- CPU = Intel Quad Q6600 2.4 GHz

Thanks for your help,

Sylvain
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
huot96
post Oct 6 2011, 06:20 AM
Post #3


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 6-October 11
Member No.: 76,383



Hi again,

Here is the solution that work for me:
- first i tried to install the free version of Bitdefender because i have no more antivirus program (i had NOD32 before)
- i tried to install 2012 over 2009 - don't work - same message (This application cannot be run on your machine)
- remove 2009
- retried 2010 - don't work
- read a little support online
- and i said to myself "What the heck ?" - i downloaded the program "BitDefender_Uninstall_Tool.exe" for the link "http://www.bitdefender.com/uninstall" from the page "How to Upgrade from BitDefender 2009/2010/2011 to BitDefender 2012?"
- ran BitDefender_Uninstall_Tool and choose "All Bitdefender product"
- retry the installation CD - and the magic work but don't ask me how

Bitdefender Antivirus Plus 2012 is now installed on my system.

Regards,

Sylvain
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaveyP16
post Oct 6 2011, 09:41 AM
Post #4


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 5-October 11
Member No.: 76,346



Hi thanks for the tip, but unfortunately I have tried this and it didnt work.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaveyP16
post Oct 9 2011, 11:50 AM
Post #5


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 5-October 11
Member No.: 76,346



Bump anyone else had this and sorted it. Sent my file log to BD and heard nothing back after 2 emails
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nikki605
post Oct 9 2011, 01:06 PM
Post #6


Veteran Poster
****

Group: Regular Bitdefender Poster
Posts: 1,308
Joined: 2-August 10
From: Tampa, FL USA
Member No.: 35,640



QUOTE (DaveyP16 @ Oct 9 2011, 06:50 AM) *
Bump anyone else had this and sorted it. Sent my file log to BD and heard nothing back after 2 emails

How did you "send" your log file? Do you have a BD ticket number? If you do, please post it here.

Regards,
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaveyP16
post Oct 9 2011, 03:54 PM
Post #7


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 5-October 11
Member No.: 76,346



Hi

sent via reply to email [Ticket ID:201110051000731]

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaveyP16
post Oct 11 2011, 09:37 PM
Post #8


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 5-October 11
Member No.: 76,346



bump
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DanyDan
post Oct 19 2011, 08:32 AM
Post #9


Guru Poster
******

Group: Moderators
Posts: 3,616
Joined: 9-December 08
From: EU
Member No.: 20,064



Hi Davey,

Please generate a new support tool log to verify that you removed the other security solution you had installed. Also please mention the name and the size of the installation kit file you are using when trying to install Bitdefender.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wazzup
post Feb 9 2013, 10:01 PM
Post #10


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 3-February 13
Member No.: 129,298



I have exactly the same problem but with 2013.

First I had to manually look up the uninstall file in the home folder and run the uninstaller but it won't delete the registry entries for some reason and therefore it won't delete the bitdefender directory. Trying to install 2013 over again doesn't work since it says it can't run on my machine which it has before.

I am running win 8 64-bit.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Georgia
post Mar 27 2013, 10:25 PM
Post #11


Guru Poster
******

Group: Technical Support
Posts: 3,602
Joined: 20-May 10
Member No.: 34,114



Hi wazzup,

To further investigate this case, please post here a support tool log:

http://forum.bitdefender.com/index.php?showtopic=29927

If the file is too big to attach it, upload it on

http://www.sendspace.com

or

http://www.mediafire.com

and post the download link.

If you were already asked to generate the log file, disregard the above message and just post the ticket ID.

Have a nice day!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TessellatedMind
post Apr 10 2013, 03:07 PM
Post #12


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 10-April 13
Member No.: 140,268



Hi Georgia,

I'm having the same issue. I attached a bug report.

I know BitDefender is a great product, but I can't even install a trial. C'mon you guys I know you can do it!

System specs:
Intel i5 3570k
Gigabyte Z77X-D3H
16GB RAM
OCZ Vertex 4 SSD

QUOTE (Georgia @ Mar 28 2013, 12:00 AM) *
Hi wazzup,

To further investigate this case, please post here a support tool log:

http://forum.bitdefender.com/index.php?showtopic=29927

If the file is too big to attach it, upload it on

http://www.sendspace.com

or

http://www.mediafire.com

and post the download link.

If you were already asked to generate the log file, disregard the above message and just post the ticket ID.

Have a nice day!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TessellatedMind
post Apr 10 2013, 03:09 PM
Post #13


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 10-April 13
Member No.: 140,268



Looks like the report didn't get attached. Here's a download link - http://dl.transfer.ro/BDSP_AO-PC_2013_04_1...0apr-776941.zip
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Georgia
post Apr 10 2013, 09:07 PM
Post #14


Guru Poster
******

Group: Technical Support
Posts: 3,602
Joined: 20-May 10
Member No.: 34,114



Hi,

@ TessellatedMind: I see your thread is also discussed on the Romanian forum, so I will take it from there:

http://forum.bitdefender.com/index.php?sho...st&p=182573
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd April 2014 - 02:20 PM