Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
> [resolved]Port Scan Detected
didialdi
post Jul 29 2011, 05:46 AM
Post #1


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 28-March 11
Member No.: 54,418



port scan against your computer was detected... what is that mean???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nikki605
post Jul 29 2011, 01:14 PM
Post #2


Veteran Poster
****

Group: Regular Bitdefender Poster
Posts: 1,308
Joined: 2-August 10
From: Tampa, FL USA
Member No.: 35,640



From Wikipedia: A port scan or portscan is "An attack that sends client requests to a range of server port addresses on a host, with the goal of finding an active port and exploiting a known vulnerability of that service."

It sounds like BD detected that the ports on your PC were being scanned from an outside source to see if any were open.

Regards,
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ONT
post Jul 30 2011, 06:19 AM
Post #3


Guru Poster
******

Group: Banned
Posts: 2,223
Joined: 11-February 10
Member No.: 31,288



From Bitdefender Help:

Block port scans - detects and blocks attempts to find out which ports are open.

Port scans are frequently used by hackers to find out which ports are open on your computer. They might then break into your computer if they find a less secure or vulnerable port.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kEbAb9000
post Jul 31 2011, 04:06 PM
Post #4


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 31-July 11
Member No.: 68,916



I keep getting messages alerting me of this and each time I get the message it minimizes whatever fullscreen game I'm running. I tried turning on game mode and playing with the settings but I still have this issue

How do I either stop getting these alerts or stop them from interfering with fullscreen programs?

Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mihaela M.
post Aug 1 2011, 02:06 PM
Post #5


Frequent Poster
***

Group: Guests
Posts: 439
Joined: 11-February 10
Member No.: 31,298



Hi kEbAb9000,

To prevent this, I would recommend you to take the IP that scans your ports and to create a deny rule in Bitdefender. To do this follow the steps below:

- Open the Bitdefender window.
- Click the Settings button on the upper toolbar.
- Click Firewall on the left-side menu and then the Advanced tab.
- Under Firewall Rules, click Adapter Rules.

A new window will appear. The current network zones are displayed per adapter. Select the adapter you have and then click on Add Zone. Enter the IP address , choose Deny and then click on OK.

Also in Firewall -> Settings you have 'Block port Scans', keep it ON.

Thank you!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kEbAb9000
post Aug 4 2011, 03:29 PM
Post #6


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 31-July 11
Member No.: 68,916



Ok, it worked. Thanks a lot for your help!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DanyDan
post Aug 4 2011, 06:10 PM
Post #7


Guru Poster
******

Group: Moderators
Posts: 3,616
Joined: 9-December 08
From: EU
Member No.: 20,064



Hi,

As the case is now resolved, this topic is closed.

If you have any further queries don't hesitate to contact us anytime!

Best regards,
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th November 2014 - 02:10 PM