Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
> Scan Failed! Could Not Check The Computer For Viruses., IE-9 Online full scanner NOT quick scanner
yoogi
post May 7 2011, 03:00 AM
Post #1


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 7-May 11
Member No.: 61,363



Bitdefender Online Scanner successfully updates its virus database, then I click "Start Scan". But it is unable to do the scan, it tries - but then it says:
"Scan Failed! Could not check the computer for viruses."

NOTE: I have already read the article "Troubleshooting BitDefender Online Scanner" here from http://www.bitdefender.com/site/KnowledgeBase/article/155/
And followed it to the letter.

I did the following:
1) Set Internet Explorer's security level to Medium-High or less.
2)added these to my trusted site zone: - see NOTE below about this site addresses
http://*.bitdefender.com
http://a248.e.akamai.net
http://ssl-hints.netflame.cc
3) Restarted IE as Administrator.

Still does not work. Please also

NOTE: Newest version IE-9 does not allow putting websites with "http://" in the Trusted list, it now requires, "https://". So when I added the above sites to trusted list I added the 's' as in "https://*.bitdefender.com" - Again it does not allow otherwise and explicitley says so. Unless you have newest IE-9 please do not say "Well it works for me." - because you are using a different version.

Is there a new way to get this to scan? Bitdefender should update their procedures for IE-9.

My System: Vista32bit, IE-9 (downloaded today from MS).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alvin Simon
post May 9 2011, 03:02 PM
Post #2


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 9-May 11
Member No.: 61,563



Same problem here. Started maybe two days ago as well.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
darth
post May 19 2011, 08:10 PM
Post #3


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 19-May 11
Member No.: 62,355



I did the standard troubleshooting, disabled all other programs, scanned my pc with other online scanner, checked active tasks, even looked into "hosts" file to check for blocked IP's.

One month ago it was working, now I get the message mentioned above. I didn't launch IE during that time (I use it only for online scanners), installed only some Firefox add-ons and 1 java game (IE or anything else was not affected). Soz for my english.

My config:

Win XP 32 bit sp 3, IE 8
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cristi
post May 19 2011, 09:10 PM
Post #4


Technical Support
*****

Group: Technical Support
Posts: 1,552
Joined: 25-January 10
From: BD HQ
Member No.: 30,868



The online scanner is undergoing a major upgrade process and it will be unavailable for a period of time.
I will post here as soon as it goes online.

Sorry for any inconvenience created.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ghjkl
post May 30 2011, 10:09 PM
Post #5


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 30-May 11
Member No.: 63,287



QUOTE (Cristi Raducu @ May 19 2011, 03:10 PM) *
The online scanner is undergoing a major upgrade process and it will be unavailable for a period of time.
I will post here as soon as it goes online.

Sorry for any inconvenience created.


Thanks for finally giving us an update, it would be nice if instead of Bitdefender Online Scanner giving us a cryptic message saying "Scan Failed! Could not check the computer for viruses." it would actually say "The online scanner is undergoing a major upgrade process and it will be unavailable for a period of time." even better would be if you can just take offline the whole Bitdefender Online Scanner until the upgrade process is done.

PS Any ETA for when its going back to online?




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
darth
post Jun 6 2011, 08:14 PM
Post #6


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 19-May 11
Member No.: 62,355



Well, it redirects now to "quickscan", which scanns "only" active processes, add-ons, current internet activity etc, will the old scanner be back or do we have to buy the product to scan all files? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/ph34r.gif) (everything mentioned above is relatively easy to "scan" manually- msconfig, netstat, task manager...)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cristi
post Jun 16 2011, 01:56 PM
Post #7


Technical Support
*****

Group: Technical Support
Posts: 1,552
Joined: 25-January 10
From: BD HQ
Member No.: 30,868



The online scanner has been temporarily replaced by the quick scanner.
I will post here when the online scanner will be up and running.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AmigaMan
post Jun 22 2011, 12:17 AM
Post #8


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 21-June 11
Member No.: 65,129



thanks for the heads-up Cristi, I've been pulling my hair out trying to get the full Online Scan to work, of course this was before I found this thread...

I hope its back online soon as it is without doubt the best free online scan and an absolute invaluable tool for me in helping the non-techie to diagnose their ailing puters.

I'll keep checking this thread for updates.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ghjkl
post Sep 27 2011, 08:04 PM
Post #9


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 30-May 11
Member No.: 63,287



Cristi Raducu is there still a plan to bring back the online scanner??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Christian
post Nov 4 2011, 06:07 PM
Post #10


Bitdefender Support
******

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 13,987
Joined: 27-January 08
From: BitDefender HQ
Member No.: 9,374



Hi

Sorry for the delayed reply.

We can not provide an ETA for the online scanner.

Until will be up and running again, please use:

http://quickscan.bitdefender.com/

Thank you in advance for understanding.

Have a nice day.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th April 2014 - 01:16 PM