Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Bitdefender Blocking System Restore
novice123
post Sep 23 2010, 04:57 AM
Post #1


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 25-August 10
Member No.: 36,240



BD seems to be blocking a system restore i want to do. how do i turn BD off or allow it to do the restore?

running windows 7 pro 64bit
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lionet
post Sep 23 2010, 10:23 AM
Post #2


Frequent Poster
***

Group: Regular Bitdefender Poster
Posts: 478
Joined: 8-November 08
From: Paris, France
Member No.: 18,826



QUOTE (novice123 @ Sep 23 2010, 05:57 AM) *
BD seems to be blocking a system restore i want to do. how do i turn BD off or allow it to do the restore?
running windows 7 pro 64bit


Hi novice123,

With XP, I have to reinstall Bitdefender everytime I launch a system restoration, so... I guess you will have issue with BD even if you could do it.
I do not know Seven, maybe issues are similar:
Check if you can deactivate Bitdefender in fail safe mode, then process to a restoration... then launch a repair/remove to reinstall BD.

Oh, You can't turn BD off at all? with the right button on the mouse on BD's red ball? You can't open BD to deactivate its services? So reboot in fail safe mode, it will work maybe...

have a nice day,
(IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
L.



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
universal-erica
post Sep 23 2010, 10:51 AM
Post #3


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 23-September 10
Member No.: 37,213



QUOTE (Lionet @ Sep 23 2010, 04:23 PM) *
Hi novice123,

With XP, I have to reinstall Bitdefender everytime I launch a system restoration, so... I guess you will have issue with BD even if you could do it.
I do not know Seven, maybe issues are similar:
Check if you can deactivate Bitdefender in fail safe mode, then process to a restoration... then launch a repair/remove to reinstall BD.

Oh, You can't turn BD off at all? with the right button on the mouse on BD's red ball? You can't open BD to deactivate its services? So reboot in fail safe mode, it will work maybe...

have a nice day,
(IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
L.

HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMm hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Reason for edit: User warned +10% - off topic post
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DanyDan
post Oct 1 2010, 09:07 PM
Post #4


Guru Poster
******

Group: Moderators
Posts: 3,616
Joined: 9-December 08
From: EU
Member No.: 20,064



Hello,

Please read this Microsoft article about how Antivirus software and System Restore work together:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/831829

Kind regards,


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Erich Stauffer
post Mar 8 2013, 03:29 PM
Post #5


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 8-March 13
Member No.: 133,809



QUOTE (DanyDan @ Oct 1 2010, 02:42 PM) *
Please read this Microsoft article about how Antivirus software and System Restore work together:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/831829


So the solution is to turn off System Restore, thereby deleting all past restore points, as part of the initial BitDefender installation?

It seems that is what Microsoft's solution is, since any virus caught during restoration will block the restoration. Do you agree?

This doesn't really help someone who really needs to restore, but it is good to know for new BitDefender installations. Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th August 2014 - 08:24 PM