Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

83 Pages V  « < 7 8 9 10 11 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Bad Update Or....? - Solution Here: Http://forum.bitdefender.com/index.php?showtopic=18789, title edit
rrwiz67
post Mar 20 2010, 07:29 PM
Post #161


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 32,212



QUOTE (L.o.D. @ Mar 20 2010, 11:27 AM) *
Herman, you need to chill.

ANY & ALL antivirus software & antimalware tools can have a false positive!

There's an option for all of them to allow the user to check the files to be sure first for a reason!


No he doesn't need to chill. He's 100% correct.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chris S
post Mar 20 2010, 07:29 PM
Post #162


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 32,199



Well, I just got done going through my entire list of quarantined files and trying to Restore them. Some were successful, most weren't. The ones that weren't successful are mostly BitDefender files, and some Windows files. It complains that there's a file with the same name already there. But what's weird is...it complains there's a file already there, but then if you "x" out of the window, another window pops up saying it cannot find the path to the directory. How can it find a duplicate file there without also finding the path to the directory to that file?

At this point, however, I'm afraid to apply an update or reboot for fear of screwing up things even more.

I tried going to that URL that L.O.D. posted, but they don't list any kind of version or date information on the 64-bit .EXE file, so how are we supposed to know when they update it?

BitDefender's lack of response on this issue is very disappointing. They don't have any kind of information on the front page of their website, even thought this is a major outage with their product. They don't have anything in their KnowledgeBase, either. And so far, the only people posting anything remotely of use are L.O.D. and other users. The only thing I've seen so far from official BitDefender people here on the forums has been a half-assed apology and no real solutions.

Very disappointing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cristi
post Mar 20 2010, 07:29 PM
Post #163


Technical Support
*****

Group: Technical Support
Posts: 1,560
Joined: 25-January 10
From: BD HQ
Member No.: 30,868



QUOTE (maros522 @ Mar 20 2010, 08:20 PM) *
Did you get the needed information and files? If not I can send you it.


We have the needed files and the update to fix this will be soon released.
For the moment:

Do not run any scans
Disable the antivirus module and wait for the update to be released (we will let you know when)
To disable the antivirus in v2010 just press the Settings button and remove the checkmark under Antivirus.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ad2019
post Mar 20 2010, 07:30 PM
Post #164


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 32,255



firefox.exe => quarantined
system files => quarantined
turn off real time scanning,
reboot => no more bitdefender cause it has quarantined itself!

Now, you guys at bitdenfender, you should better find a very good solution for all of us regarding this unbelievable mess...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
WooLand
post Mar 20 2010, 07:30 PM
Post #165


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 32,258



QUOTE (wid @ Mar 20 2010, 07:20 PM) *
dude I can't restore, please see attached! (IMG:style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)


Have the smae issue, cannot restore files. This is so BAD BitDefender!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay185
post Mar 20 2010, 07:30 PM
Post #166


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 32,225



yeah ANY AND ALL antivirus can have a false positive

but ONLY BITDEFENDER got this kind of false positive

if you dont have a solution for us then stop replying here.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Perceval
post Mar 20 2010, 07:30 PM
Post #167


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 32,244



From France, another guy with a dead Windows 7 64 bit on my Asus M60Vp with BDIS 2010.

It started to quarantine all my files, rebooted itself, quarantined everything and NOW I CANNOT EVEN RESTORE MY SYSTEM BECAUSE IT QUARANTINED CRITICAL FILES.

As lots of people, I can say it's a SHAME.

I have a Windows Vista 32 bit working (yes, I didn't put that ###### BD on it) so I would like to unquarantine my files from this Windows.

Does someone know if it is possible, or using Rescue disk ?

I will definitely NOT renew my licence next time. Such bugs are inacceptable as any other bug caused by this "secured and great software" (boot crashes, random BD crashes, etc etc). THIS IS A SHAME.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
L.o.D.
post Mar 20 2010, 07:31 PM
Post #168


Regular Poster
**

Group: Regular Bitdefender Poster
Posts: 273
Joined: 20-June 09
Member No.: 25,035



Chris S, when they announce that they have a fix released, they will most likely update that file as well at the same time.

Jay, I never said that an FP like this cannot happen.
BTW, it's my thread so ya, I will reply to it.

This post has been edited by L.o.D.: Mar 20 2010, 07:32 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Barbarino
post Mar 20 2010, 07:31 PM
Post #169


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 32,247



I was able restore some files from the Program Files directory, but not any system related ones. You may want to look at the quarantine settings and turn off the auto-delete functions, hopefully a fix will get in soon. I'm glad I looked a the forum before I thought of restarting.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Red Avatar
post Mar 20 2010, 07:32 PM
Post #170


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 32,195



QUOTE (L.o.D. @ Mar 20 2010, 08:27 PM) *
Herman, you need to chill.

ANY & ALL antivirus software & antimalware tools can have a false positive!

There's an option for all of them to allow the user to check the files to be sure first for a reason!

And you, LOD, need to get your head out of their ######. The last time an antivirus had a false positive, it was all over the news and that was just ONE file that got quarantined and it was by a FREE antivirus program namely AVG.

Now, however, this involves a PAYED FOR PROGRAM AND IT QUARANTINES ALL FILES INCLUDING BITDEFENDER ITSELF. In other words, stop being an idiot and open your eyes: this is a MAJOR problem and going to cause thousands and tens of thousands of users massive headaches, worries, lost files, broken computers, costing hundreds of thousands of dollars to get it all fixed yet you seem so convinced it's just a minor inconvenience. Are you eating "happy pills" as candy or something?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dutz
post Mar 20 2010, 07:32 PM
Post #171


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 32,252



Please take in consideration that repairing BitDefender with the installer clears the quarantined files list... I don't know how BD manages those files, whether they are still present somewhere on disk or not, but the solution to this mess should definitely include restoring those files. I don't give a ###### that it will no longer report that FakeAlert if most of my files are gone.

Oh, and also the solution should come faster than I install Windows and everything I had.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Herman Melville
post Mar 20 2010, 07:32 PM
Post #172


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 3-March 10
Member No.: 31,759



QUOTE (L.o.D. @ Mar 20 2010, 01:27 PM) *
Herman, you need to chill.

ANY & ALL antivirus software & antimalware tools can have a false positive!

There's an option for all of them to allow the user to check the files to be sure first for a reason!


yeah, if this was just some minor false positive issue, I would not be writing here.

This is something far beyond that.

This issue renders many systems unusable to the point where it can't even reboot.

As for me, I was lucky enough to disable real time scanning early on and not affected badly, not to mention my bitdefender is set to send files to quarantine before deletion.

But some people, more like the majority, are affected to the point where their system is breached.

You have to realize that majority of the people are not computer gurus like some of us are.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
conovor
post Mar 20 2010, 07:32 PM
Post #173


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 32,232



QUOTE (L.o.D. @ Mar 20 2010, 07:27 PM) *
Herman, you need to chill.

ANY & ALL antivirus software & antimalware tools can have a false positive!

There's an option for all of them to allow the user to check the files to be sure first for a reason!



you have right, all antivirus could have false positive, but all antivirus don't move in quarantine thousand of windows system32 files require for the boot system.

That's not a false positive, it's call a major bug !!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
VoidKahn
post Mar 20 2010, 07:32 PM
Post #174


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 32,200



QUOTE (L.o.D. @ Mar 20 2010, 08:14 PM) *
I think people are jumping the gun here though.
If the files are quarantined, they can be restored when a fix is applied.

But if you have it set to auto delete stuff, you are being foolish.


Easy for you to say...

BD has quarantined even itself for some people and some innocent people rebooted their computer and can't even start windows or do some kind of repair which for some of them means reformatting the computer.

Some were lucky to be fast but some weren't and this is really a pain in the ######.

I can't find all the files in the quarantine for some reason even though I don't have it to auto delete the files.

If they don't fix this fast we have no real time protection from BD at the moment which makes us vulnerable so stop taking it way to easy because some are trying to take it calmly but when someone comes and makes it sound like no biggy it's very annoying.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
L.o.D.
post Mar 20 2010, 07:33 PM
Post #175


Regular Poster
**

Group: Regular Bitdefender Poster
Posts: 273
Joined: 20-June 09
Member No.: 25,035



I NEVER SAID THIS WAS A MINOR ISSUE!!
God ###### people!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DLd
post Mar 20 2010, 07:34 PM
Post #176


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 17-September 08
Member No.: 16,784



Well this affected me too, and in a BAD way.

Suddenly some programs were uninstalled, sometimes the instant I tried to start one up it instantly deleted the install folder! My system was sluggish, and the fakealert was blocking EVERY program I tried to open.

To me this problem can't be an update error. Something this serious would NEVER of made it past testing.

My guess would be bit defender has had another security breach, hacked or something....seems like the only logical solution.

In any case this whole incident has now forced me to reinstall Windows 7, and I will NOT be using bit defender again.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ufitec
post Mar 20 2010, 07:35 PM
Post #177


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 32,265



we are in a really terrible position now.
we have 150 bussiness clients and most of the pcs which bitdefender thinks everything is virus does not boot any more!!!!
even if it boots most of the programs does not work!!!
I disabled antivirus realtime-scan from the Management Console and I am removing it from all the pcs!
I dont think I will install them again!!
THIS THING SUX!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CHUV777
post Mar 20 2010, 07:35 PM
Post #178


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 32,226



Good news...

if youre not too far down the drain already and if Windows Installer is still active and working (if not, try to fix it). you can uninstall bitdefender and run a system restore. This worked for me and as of now i will hold off on reinstalling bitdefender until this crap is dealt with.

Shame on you bitdefender team. have fun dealing with this screw up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
siimvuss
post Mar 20 2010, 07:37 PM
Post #179


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 32,259



QUOTE (kiltsnelvis @ Mar 20 2010, 08:24 PM) *
has anyone managed to shutdown and so a system restore boot?



I managed to stay alive (at least seems so) after rebooting. When I noticed that bitdefender started finding those trojan fakealerts I plugged out my internet. Then I wanted to do a full scan, which (thank god) failed to start. Then I restarted my computer, managed to get back in, but it still said every file is a virus. Then i started googling with my sisters mac and found this thread. I disabled real time scanning and I could restore most of the files, about the rest of them it says that a file with exact same name already exists.


looking forward to a fix,
Siim
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FakeVirus.5
post Mar 20 2010, 07:38 PM
Post #180


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 32,249



Where do I go on the '10 edition to turn off auto delete?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

83 Pages V  « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st November 2014 - 03:27 AM