Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problem In Update Task
etorona
post Sep 8 2009, 02:38 PM
Post #1


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 8-September 09
Member No.: 26,934



Hi,

I configured a local server for bitdefender entreprise update.

My problem is, i can't perform the update task for my clients.

I have this error message :

BitDefender Live! was unable to connect to the following location: http://upgrade.bitdefender.com/bdssadd_82. Please make sure that this location is valid and retry.

i have the vesion 2.6 of bd entrepise manager
and 8.0.2 for the bd client professional plus.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Diana Bele
post Sep 9 2009, 04:33 PM
Post #2


Technical Support
***

Group: Regular Bitdefender Poster
Posts: 758
Joined: 27-March 07
From: Bucharest, Romania
Member No.: 58



Hello etorona,

Are the clients set up to update from a local update server or are they each connected to the Internet and set up to update from our update servers?

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
etorona
post Sep 10 2009, 10:35 AM
Post #3


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 8-September 09
Member No.: 26,934



QUOTE (Diana B. @ Sep 9 2009, 05:33 PM) *
Hello etorona,

Are the clients set up to update from a local update server or are they each connected to the Internet and set up to update from our update servers?

Thanks!




The update is disactivated on clients. The local server performed a planed task to send update to clients.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Diana Bele
post Sep 10 2009, 02:05 PM
Post #4


Technical Support
***

Group: Regular Bitdefender Poster
Posts: 758
Joined: 27-March 07
From: Bucharest, Romania
Member No.: 58



Hello etorona,

Please tell me on how many computers in your network you receive this error message when trying to update.

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Aczlan
post Oct 2 2009, 07:58 PM
Post #5


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 24-June 09
Member No.: 25,124



I am seeing the similar problems in our network.
On the computers that have stopped updating the primary update server has been set to http://upgrade.bitdefender.com which resolves to a1937.g.akamai.net (the IP address has been different each time, but the DNS name is the same).
To fix it I have been pointing them to http://update.bitdefender.com or our local update server for their primary update server. Those that have had problems seem to have last updated on the 21st or 24th of September 2009.

When they have problems I have had no problems pinging upgrade.bitdefender.com or update.bitdefender.com. On some computers I have seen this error even when http://update.bitdefender.com is set as the backup update server.

We are running Client Standard 8.0 with version 2.6 of the enterprise manager. As for severity, so far I have received reports of problems with ~20 of our 600+ client computers. These problems started appearing at the beginning of this week

Any suggestions? I can get more info if you would like.

Thanks

Aaron Z
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Aczlan
post Oct 2 2009, 08:28 PM
Post #6


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 24-June 09
Member No.: 25,124



I should also mention that these computers are running XP SP3 and so far the ones that are on auto update (Staff machines) seem to have been affected more than the Public machines (No auto updates, DeepFreeze or equivalent installed. They get updated somewhere between weekly and monthly) have been.

Thanks again

Aaron Z

This post has been edited by Aczlan: Oct 2 2009, 08:29 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Diana Bele
post Oct 7 2009, 09:36 AM
Post #7


Technical Support
***

Group: Regular Bitdefender Poster
Posts: 758
Joined: 27-March 07
From: Bucharest, Romania
Member No.: 58



Hello Aczlan,

There was a recent update aimed at correcting update issues with this version of the product. Please tell us if you are able to update BitDefender Business Client from your local update server now.

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
etorona
post Oct 9 2009, 09:49 AM
Post #8


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 8-September 09
Member No.: 26,934



Thanks for answers,

I thaugh that my problem is resolved, but no.

The auto update is performed only for clients connected to Internet, especially for the first update task.
It looks like that the clients checks updates from internet !!!!

However, i put my local server as the primary server update.

I don't know where is the problem !!


It seems that the BitDefender HTTP server is stopped, i can't run it manually. Is this the probelme ??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Diana Bele
post Oct 9 2009, 10:13 AM
Post #9


Technical Support
***

Group: Regular Bitdefender Poster
Posts: 758
Joined: 27-March 07
From: Bucharest, Romania
Member No.: 58



Hello etorona,


Please search in your system for a file called "livesrv.log". Open it and look for the error that the update process generates when trying to connect to the local update server.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
etorona
post Oct 9 2009, 11:19 AM
Post #10


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 8-September 09
Member No.: 26,934



Hi,

Thanks for reply,

I think i find the problem, i used the 8080 port to start BitDefender http server, but it can't.
When i change the port, it start now.

I think that it was my problem (IMG:style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif)

Thanks All.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Aczlan
post Oct 13 2009, 05:38 PM
Post #11


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 24-June 09
Member No.: 25,124



QUOTE (Diana Bele @ Oct 7 2009, 04:36 AM) *
There was a recent update aimed at correcting update issues with this version of the product. Please tell us if you are able to update BitDefender Business Client from your local update server now.

We are still having this issue on some computers.
Details from the computer of the day:
  1. User called said that Bitdefender wouldn't update.
  2. I ran updates from the management console using our local server, updates ran fine and it says "No update available" when I try to run it. The user said that they got a 'Bitdefender installation" message and a second BD icon in down by the clock. That ran (is this the update you mentioned?)
  3. I sent an update using upgrade.bitdefender.com as the primary server and update.bitdefender.com as the backup. It ran and I get a "Finished with error" under status.
  4. The error message says "BitDefender Live! was unable to connect to the following location: http://update.bitdefender.com/update71. Please make sure this location is valid and try again".
  5. I tried having it update again using upgrade.bitdefender.com for both servers (our default config) and got the exact same message. (that it couldn't contact http://update.bitdefender.com/update71) I looked and the PC has upgrade.bitdefender.com as the primary server and update.bitdefender.com as the backup.

Is there a reason why I wouldn't be seeing upgrade.bitdefender.com as the server it tried to contact when I specified that as the server to use for the primary and backup servers?

Pinging from that computer gives me the following results:
CODE
C:\>ping upgrade.bitdefender.com

Pinging a1937.g.akamai.net [24.24.52.120] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 24.24.52.120: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=59
Reply from 24.24.52.120: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=59
Reply from 24.24.52.120: bytes=32 time=43ms TTL=59
Reply from 24.24.52.120: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=59

Ping statistics for 24.24.52.120:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 29ms, Maximum = 50ms, Average = 38ms


CODE
C:\>ping update.bitdefender.com

Pinging update.bitdefender.com [66.132.221.68] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Reply from 66.132.221.68: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=44
Reply from 66.132.221.68: bytes=32 time=64ms TTL=44
Reply from 66.132.221.68: bytes=32 time=104ms TTL=44

Ping statistics for 66.132.221.68:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 62ms, Maximum = 104ms, Average = 76ms

C:\>

The timout on the first ping when pinging update.bitdefender.com seems to happen every time

Thanks

Aaron Z

This post has been edited by Aczlan: Oct 13 2009, 05:39 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Diana Bele
post Oct 14 2009, 02:56 PM
Post #12


Technical Support
***

Group: Regular Bitdefender Poster
Posts: 758
Joined: 27-March 07
From: Bucharest, Romania
Member No.: 58



Hello Aczlan,

Please tell me what version of the Client you are using in your network?

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Aczlan
post Oct 14 2009, 03:02 PM
Post #13


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 24-June 09
Member No.: 25,124



QUOTE (Diana Bele @ Oct 14 2009, 09:56 AM) *
Hello Aczlan,
Please tell me what version of the Client you are using in your network?

We are using Client Standard 2.6.0.1

Aaron Z
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Diana Bele
post Oct 14 2009, 03:13 PM
Post #14


Technical Support
***

Group: Regular Bitdefender Poster
Posts: 758
Joined: 27-March 07
From: Bucharest, Romania
Member No.: 58



Hello Aczlan,

This version of the product is quite old so my recommendations would be one of the following two:
- either upgrade free of charge to Client Security 3x and Business Client for the client workstations;
or
- reinstall Client Professional on the workstations that encounter these issues.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alexleonardme
post Sep 15 2010, 07:43 PM
Post #15


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 15-September 10
Member No.: 36,942



Hey my computer got a trojan, how do i get rid of it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adriana M.
post Sep 16 2010, 04:14 PM
Post #16


Technical Support
**

Group: Regular Bitdefender Poster
Posts: 298
Joined: 13-August 10
Member No.: 35,874



Hello,alexleonardme!

Could you pelase tell me what Bitdefender product you have installed on your machine?



Have a nice day!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st August 2014 - 04:25 AM