Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Bitdefender 2009 And Windows 7, a bit of testing
Armandn
post Mar 21 2009, 10:39 AM
Post #1


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 21-March 09
Member No.: 22,690



I know Windows 7 is not officially supported, but I installed Bitdefender Total Security 2009 on a Windows 7 (build 7057 32bit).

I encountered only one major issue - when resuming the laptop from sleep, no networks connections are available, and the only way to fix this is via a reboot. I thought it was a driver/power management issue, but after countless tests, it just wouldn't work until I uninstalled Bitdefender. Note that I tried just disabling the firewall but it wasn't enough.

If you need any details of this issue, I'll be happy to provide.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Armandn
post Mar 21 2009, 03:35 PM
Post #2


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 21-March 09
Member No.: 22,690



Replying to myself, I managed to pinpoint the problem and workaround:
After resuming from sleep, from Control Panel, choosing the Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network Connections and then Local Area Connection Properties, I disabled Bitdefender Firewall NDIS Filter Driver. At that moment the LAN became available and I got a Bitdefender popup asking if the network was home or public. After that I could re-enable the Firewall filter driver.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Taksina
post Mar 24 2009, 04:10 PM
Post #3


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 7-January 09
Member No.: 20,871



I also encounter this problem. Mine is Windows 7 32-bit. I don't have the patience to find the solution so now I use Avast and everything works fine. I wish BitDefender would allow us to test what they are working on so we can use it during the Windows 7 beta testing (IMG:style_emoticons/default/dry.gif) .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sm3K3R
post Mar 24 2009, 11:38 PM
Post #4


Frequent Poster
***

Group: Regular Bitdefender Poster
Posts: 497
Joined: 22-February 08
Member No.: 10,335



BD 2009 AV doesnt work properly on W7 64 bit (build 7000) also .After the first session ,when the antivirus settles in into the OS, update refuses to work.No NDIS filter driver is installed (so the NDIS disable trick can t be done) .Its unexplainable how it updates the first time after the fresh install and then refuses(it shows the update failed in the Update Panel, on manual updates and on autoupdates).
Lets hope the new update will polish the W7 64 bit future compatibility.
Anyway BD 2009 AV is lighter than Av*st on W7 64bit.

This post has been edited by crysty2k5: Mar 25 2009, 04:38 PM
Reason for edit: removed other AV
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarris
post Apr 1 2009, 06:44 PM
Post #5


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 1-April 09
Member No.: 23,002



QUOTE (Sm3K3R @ Mar 24 2009, 05:38 PM) *
BD 2009 AV doesnt work properly on W7 64 bit (build 7000) also .After the first session ,when the antivirus settles in into the OS, update refuses to work.No NDIS filter driver is installed (so the NDIS disable trick can t be done) .Its unexplainable how it updates the first time after the fresh install and then refuses(it shows the update failed in the Update Panel, on manual updates and on autoupdates).
Lets hope the new update will polish the W7 64 bit future compatibility.
Anyway BD 2009 AV is lighter than Av*st on W7 64bit.


So update is not possible for virus definitions/program atm with Windows 7? Just installed bitdefender on my windows 7 64bit system and found out that the "weekly.exe" updates don't work for 2009.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ryancrawcour
post Jun 8 2009, 02:19 AM
Post #6


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 8-June 09
Member No.: 24,754



QUOTE (Armandn @ Mar 21 2009, 09:39 PM) *
... installed Bitdefender Total Security 2009 on a Windows 7 (build 7057 32bit). ...


how did you even get it to install?
I try and the installer just fails every time.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BAEZ
post Nov 5 2009, 08:40 AM
Post #7


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 5-November 09
Member No.: 28,694



I'm running W7 - 64Bit and i was able to successfully install BitDefender Antivirus 2010 to my computer. After installation i ran the required steps before being fully functional. While updating definitions and virus list it provided an error and required the system to restart. When computer restarted it now displays an error of:

"The Bitdefender Security Service (vsserv.exe) is unavailable at the moment."

It does not work now.... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/ohmy.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st August 2014 - 10:25 AM