Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Wuauclt.exe In System32 Infected With Trojan?
gdobbs23
post Feb 16 2009, 12:09 AM
Post #21


Poster
*

Group: Regular Bitdefender Poster
Posts: 78
Joined: 26-October 08
Member No.: 18,328



QUOTE (not_a_health_nut @ Feb 15 2009, 03:34 PM) *
That's what I had originally thought but after researching it on google, I found out that the process will run for a short while when the computer starts up, but should disappear after a while (it finishes checking for updates). Hope this helps.


Thanks for that. It isn't there now, but has been occasionally, so I guess everything is working fine. Even if it isn't, BD AV checks and makes sure Windows is updated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
redangus
post Feb 16 2009, 09:50 AM
Post #22


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 16-February 09
Member No.: 21,885



I have been running BitDefender for about 3 years since I built this computer with Windows XP Media Center SP2 for an operating system. At the time I found your software on line, took a chance on it, purchased and installed it and found it to be very good keeping my computer protected and virus free. Not one virus infection. However on last Friday Feb 13, a virus alert appeared informing me that a virus infected a file in windows system (I can't remember the exact name of the file but it had the terms "winlogon , and 386"). This file was quarantined and deleted, prompting a message box telling me to re-install the said file from the Windows XP CD's. I tried this but the file could not be found here, likely because my computer was auto-updated to XP SP3 and I did not have backup files for this version. After unsuccessfully trying to get files from windows update, to correct this, some other updates were installed, requiring a reboot. That's when my problems started. Windows was unable to start, and I had to reinstall the operating system. Got things going the next day, and when tying to get windows updated,. another virus warning appeared infecting another critical file. This time the file was replaced successfully. I thought by using System Restore, the problem would be corrected, but the virus warning reappeared again offline, so I reversed it. Today, again the virus warning pops up so I decided to search the net for answers and came across this message board, and registered. Finally I found out what the problem was.
Please note that up until now , I thought my computer was being under attack from several different virus. Glad that it isn't, but dealing with situations like this where I am not sure what to do when it does happens, caused me a whole lot of grief. I now have to get all the updates back and reinstall taking up a lot of time. Your software should provide more visible instructions and warnings about what to do when critical operating files are infected and modified or deleted.

Copy and Paste from another thread below.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ronchicago
post Feb 17 2009, 02:23 AM
Post #23


Poster
*

Group: Regular Bitdefender Poster
Posts: 88
Joined: 11-February 09
Member No.: 21,770



QUOTE (gdobbs23 @ Feb 15 2009, 05:09 PM) *
Thanks for that. It isn't there now, but has been occasionally, so I guess everything is working fine. Even if it isn't, BD AV checks and makes sure Windows is updated.


To avoid possible repeats I want to change all my First Actions to "Move to Quarantine". How do I do this? So far I have gone through all the scans, via the Advanced Vies in Anti-Virus and changed the first actions for infected files. Is there anywhere else? Or better still, could I have made the change globally for all scans?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gdobbs23
post Feb 17 2009, 03:00 AM
Post #24


Poster
*

Group: Regular Bitdefender Poster
Posts: 78
Joined: 26-October 08
Member No.: 18,328



QUOTE (ronchicago @ Feb 16 2009, 08:23 PM) *
To avoid possible repeats I want to change all my First Actions to "Move to Quarantine". How do I do this? So far I have gone through all the scans, via the Advanced Vies in Anti-Virus and changed the first actions for infected files. Is there anywhere else? Or better still, could I have made the change globally for all scans?


No idea, but I'd love to do the same thing. There has to be an option somewhere to do that (although I can't find it after a few minutes of poking around). It doesn't make any sense to delete any files BD thinks are viruses when quarantining safely protects your PC anyway.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th July 2014 - 09:08 AM